To achieve the best performance on your computer, it is suggested that you log off an account instead of switching to another one using Fast User Switching. By logging off an account, all the previous user's programs and files will be closed. This will allow the new account to have access to all of the computer's resources, which will allow it to be faster.
Fast User Switching is a useful feature in Windows that allows you to quickly switch between different accounts on your machine. If it's not used properly, though, it can lead to problems as your computer becomes slow due to the amount of programs that are running at the same time. With this said, many people feel its better to disable Fast User Switching altogether and require people to log off of their accounts before another person can log in. This way only the programs currently being used by the logged in user are running and will have more resources available to them.
Fast user switching is a feature in Windows that allows you to switch to another user account on the same computer without logging off. This allows multiple users to use the same computer while keeping each account's programs and files open and running in the background. As you can imagine, this can be useful when someone wants to use their computer but another account is logged in with open files and programs. Instead of taking the risk of closing the user's programs and possibly losing data, a user can instead just switch to their account without affecting the other one.
It is important to know how to properly shut down or restart your computer so that you do not lose data or corrupt important Windows files or Registry locations. Many people think that you shut down your computer simply by pressing the power button. On some configurations, this will work as Windows will recognize that you press the power button and shut it down gracefully. On the other hand, if your computer is not configured to do this, when you press the power button the computer will turn off and any unsaved data in Windows will be lost. Shutting down a computer this way could also cause data corruption on your hard drive or within Windows.
When using Windows there may come a time where you will need to close a program or process that is not responding or that you are concerned is a computer infection. This tutorial will walk you through using the Windows Task Manager to close a program when you cannot close it normally.
The Windows Task Manager is a program that comes with Windows and displays information about the processes running and the resources being utilized on your computer. This utility allows you get a good overview of the tasks your computer is performing and the amount of resources each task is utilizing. Using this information you can tune your computer to run optimally and efficiently by disabling programs that may be using too many resources and thus slowing down your computer.
If Windows is configured with the wrong time and date, lots of strange and unpredictable behavior can occur. For example, browsers will state that web site certificates are invalid, Windows Update may not work properly, or you may receive alerts that Windows needs to activate again. There are typically two reasons for Windows showing the wrong time and date. The first is because you have the time zone set incorrectly and the second reason is because your BIOS battery in your computer has failed and the current time is not being saved when you shut off the computer.
When Windows, like any other operating system, is created there are bugs introduced into the software that could affect how the operating system runs. These bugs could cause Windows to not run reliably or could cause security vulnerabilities that would make Windows vulnerable to attacks. When these bugs are discovered, Microsoft creates updates to fix these issues and makes them available through the Windows Update utility. There is no set day that updates are released, except when it comes to security updates. Microsoft traditionally releases security updates for Windows on the second Tuesday of each month, which has become known as Patch Tuesday. In some cases, if a particular vulnerability is severe enough, Microsoft may release an update earlier in order to mitigate any issues that may be caused by this vulnerability. When Microsoft releases a security update ahead of schedule, this is called an out-of-band security update.
In order to protect Windows XP, it is important to have Automatic Updates properly configured in Windows XP. This tutorial will help you configure Automatic Updates so that new updates are automatically installed or you are alerted when they become available.
Many organizations that use Remote Desktop Services or Terminal Services are not using a VPN connection before allowing connections to their in-house servers or workstations. If no VPN is required, this means that the Terminal Server or Remote Desktop is publicly visible and allows connections from anyone on the network and in most cases the Internet. This is a major security risk because it allows remote hackers to attempt to use password cracking attacks on your accessible servers in order to gain remote access. As Remote Desktop Services are configured by default to listen on TCP port 3389, all a hacker has to do is scan the Internet for computers that have that port open and then use a cracking program to try and crack the computer's accounts and passwords. This may seem like a hard task, but it is actually not difficult at all using free and publicly available tools.