Restrict What Personal Data Is Shared on the Facebook API Platform

  • March 21, 2018
  • Read 10,481 times
 

Recently we learned that a data analytics company called Cambridge Analytica was able to access to the data of 50 million Facebook accounts, with the vast majority of these users not even knowing their data was being accessed. This was done through an app that only a couple of hundred thousand Facebook users installed, but due to the permissions of the Facebook API at the time, this app was also able to access each of these user's friends's data.

Due to this widescale inappropriate use of Facebook data, many people have decided to wipe their Facebook profiles and then deactivate or delete their Facebook accounts in order to protect their personal data.

If you enjoy Facebook, though, and want to continue using it, there is another option that you can use to restrict your personal data from being transmitted through the Facebook API to third-party companies and Apps. To access these privacy restrictions you need to go to the App Settings screen.

To access this screen, you can either go into the Facebook Settings screen and then select Apps, or even easier, you can click on this App Settings link. This will open the App Settings screen as shown below.

App Settings Screen

At this screen you have two choices to restrict your data through the Facebook API Platform. The first option is to completely prevent your data from being used by 3rd parties such as apps, plugins, games, and web sites and the second is to only restrict certain data.

To completely disable your data from being shared on the Facebook Platform, click on the Edit button under the Apps, Websites, and Plugins section. This will bring up a dialog box that explains the ramifications of disabling the Facebook API platform. This includes not being able to login to other websites using your Facebook account or to use Facebook data with installed apps.

Disable API
Facebook Platform Section

If you are ok with these restrictions, click on the Disable Platform button. Please note, that when you press this button it may take a few seconds for the platform to be disabled, so don't click it over and over.

If you want to continue using Facebook in your apps or to login to other sites, you can keep the Facebook Platform enabled, but restrict the types of content that can be shared with 3rd party apps, plugins, and websites. To do this, click on the Edit button in the Apps others use section instead.

This will bring up a screen that lists various types of information that you can disable from being shared.

Apps others use Section
Apps Others Use Section

In this section it is strongly suggested that you disable all of the available options for the highest privacy. It should be noted, though, that even with all of the categories disabled, your friends list, gender, and any public information you have posted on Facebook will still be accessible by 3rd party programs, apps, and websites.

With companies like Facebook, Google, and Twitter generating huge amounts of revenue from your personal data, it is important to constantly monitor how it is being used and to restrict your data usage and sharing if possible. Unfortunately, in some cases this could remove some of the features of a particular site that you enjoy using.

In this economy where data is a commodity, users now have to decide what is more important to them; their privacy or the full functionality of a favorite website. While it is important to stay educated on the risks, only they can decide whats more important.

Users who read this also read:

  • How to Use Cortana As Your Virtual Assistant in Windows Image
    How to Use Cortana As Your Virtual Assistant in Windows

    Cortana is a virtual assistant, similar to Amazon's Alexa and Apple's Siri, that is built into Windows 10. Using Cortana you can ask it to look up information, schedule appointments, send emails, start applications, and much more. The best part is that you can also do all of this hands free using voice commands so that you can work on other things and still have access to your Windows ...

  • How to see hidden files in Windows Image
    How to see hidden files in Windows

    By default Windows hides certain files from being seen with Windows Explorer or My Computer. This is done to protect these files, which are usually system files, from accidentally being modified or deleted by the user. Unfortunately viruses, spyware, and hijackers often hide there files in this way making it hard to find them and then delete them.

  • How to Change Your Twitter Password Image
    How to Change Your Twitter Password

    This article will provide instructions on how you can change your password on Twitter. When using any online service, including Twitter, it is important to make sure you use a unique password at each site. This way if your password is ever exposed, only that particular site is affected and your other sites are safe.

  • How to Delete Your Facebook Account Image
    How to Delete Your Facebook Account

    As stories continue to come out about how Facebook account data is being used without your permission, many people have decided to wipe their Facebook profiles, deactivate, or even delete their Facebook accounts. If you are no longer using Facebook, are concerned about the privacy risks associated with your Facebook data, or just want to delete your Facebook account, you can use these instructions ...

  • How to Setup Login Verification in Twitter Image
    How to Setup Login Verification in Twitter

    To increase security, Twitter offers a feature called Login verification, which is their version of two-step verification. With Login verification enabled on an account, a user will not only need their password to login, but will also require a code sent to your mobile number at the time of the login.

 

Comments:

blog comments powered by Disqus

Login

Remember Me
Sign in anonymously