How to Delete Your Facebook Account

  • March 21, 2018
  • Read 5,357 times
 

As stories continue to come out about how Facebook account data is being used without your permission, many people have decided to wipe their Facebook profiles, deactivate, or even delete their Facebook accounts. If you are no longer using Facebook, are concerned about the privacy risks associated with your Facebook data, or just want to delete your Facebook account, you can use these instructions to learn how to permanently delete your Facebook account.

We have organized this guide so that you will not only permanently delete your Facebook account, but we will also walk you through backing up your data and wiping your Facebook profile first.

It is important to remember that the following steps will completely wipe and delete your Facebook account. So if you are not sure if you wish to delete it, you can deactivate your Facebook account instead.

Step 1: Backup Your Facebook Data

Before you get started, I suggest that you first create a backup of your data and download it to your computer. This way you can keep a local copy of all the conversation you have had, any posts that you made, and images that you uploaded.

To learn how to make a backup of you Facebook data you can use this tutorial: How to Backup Your Facebook Posts, Images, and Data.

Backup Data Screen

Step 2: Use the "Social Book Post Manager" Chrome Extension to Wipe Your Profile

Now that your Facebook data has been backed up, we want to perform a wipe of the posts on your Facebook profile. We are doing this extra step because when you delete a Facebook account it could take up to 90 days to actually delete all of your content from Facebook.

By wiping your profile of all posts and likes, we can at least remove the content that is stored in your profile even if your account is still "active" for those 90 days. To learn how to mass delete your Facebook posts and wipe your profile, you can read our "Social Book Post Manager" Chrome Extension Lets You Wipe Your Facebook Profile article.

Step 3: Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account

At this point you should have your Facebook data backed up and have used the Social Book Post Manager Chrome extension to wipe your profile. The only thing left to do is actually perform the deletion of your Facebook profile.

To do this, click on the following link to request your account be deleted: https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account. When you click this link, you will be brought to a page asking you to confirm if you truly wish to delete the account.

Delete Facebook Account Confirmation
Delete Facebook Account Confirmation

If you truly wish to delete your Facebook account, click on the Delete My Account button.

You will then be prompted to enter your password.

Enter Facebook Password Prompt
Password Prompt

Once you enter your password, your Facebook account will be deleted.

Users who read this also read:

  • Restrict What Personal Data Is Shared on the Facebook API Platform Image
    Restrict What Personal Data Is Shared on the Facebook API Platform

    If you enjoy Facebook and want to continue using it, there is a way you can restrict your personal data from being transmitted through the Facebook API to third-party companies and Apps. This tutorial will provide information how to restrict your data from being used by 3rd parties.

  • How to Deactivate a Facebook Account Image
    How to Deactivate a Facebook Account

    If you are no longer using Facebook, but wish to keep your account, you can deactivate it any time. This allows you to come back to the account whenever you want without losing your data that you have posted to Facebook. Below are instructions explaining how to deactivate your account on both the desktop site and through the mobile app.

  • How to Backup Your Facebook Posts, Images, and Data Image
    How to Backup Your Facebook Posts, Images, and Data

    Facebook offers users the ability to backup a copy of their Facebook data and download it to their local computer. This data includes your posts, photos, videos, messages and chat conversations, your profile file, and information stored in the about section.

  • How to start Windows in Safe Mode Image
    How to start Windows in Safe Mode

    Windows Safe Mode is a way of booting up your Windows operating system in order to run administrative and diagnostic tasks on your installation. When you boot into Safe Mode the operating system only loads the bare minimum of software that is required for the operating system to work. This mode of operating is designed to let you troubleshoot and run diagnostics on your computer. Windows Safe Mode ...

  • How to Use Cortana As Your Virtual Assistant in Windows Image
    How to Use Cortana As Your Virtual Assistant in Windows

    Cortana is a virtual assistant, similar to Amazon's Alexa and Apple's Siri, that is built into Windows 10. Using Cortana you can ask it to look up information, schedule appointments, send emails, start applications, and much more. The best part is that you can also do all of this hands free using voice commands so that you can work on other things and still have access to your Windows ...

 

Comments:

blog comments powered by Disqus

Login

Remember Me
Sign in anonymously