How to Backup Your Facebook Posts, Images, and Data

  • March 21, 2018
  • Read 5,631 times
 

Facebook offers users the ability to backup a copy of their Facebook data and download it to their local computer. This data includes your posts, photos, videos, messages and chat conversations, your profile file, and information stored in the about section.

Backup Data Screen

To create a backup and download it, open the Facebook menu by clicking on the down arrow next to the question mark in the Facebook navigation header as shown below. Alternatively, you can click on this link to open the General Settings page.

Open Facebook Menu
Open Facebook Menu

Once the menu, is open click on the Settings link and then make sure are viewing the General Account Settings as shown below.

Open Facebook Menu
General Account Settings Scren

At the bottom of the above settings, you will see a link titled "Download a copy of your Facebook data". Click on this link to begin the process of creating a backup. As part of this process, Facebook will first prompt you to enter your password before creating the archive. It will then begin to create your data backup, and when its finished, will email you that the data backup is ready to be downloaded.

You can now go back to the General Account Settings page and click on the "Download a copy" link again. This time you will be presented with a screen that states your backup is ready. If you click on the Download Archive button, you will be prompted to enter your password and then the backup will be downloaded.

Download Facebook Backup
Download Backup Screen

This download will be sent as a zip archive and will contain numerous folders and files that contain your data. Any textual data will be stored in HTML files and images will be stored in separate image files. For example, all of your timeline posts will be contained in a html file called timeline.htm as shown below.

Timeline Backup
Example of Timeline Data Backup

Now that you have a backup of all your data, if you wish to deactive or delete your Facebook account you can do so without losing your data.

Users who read this also read:

  • How to Delete Your Facebook Account Image
    How to Delete Your Facebook Account

    As stories continue to come out about how Facebook account data is being used without your permission, many people have decided to wipe their Facebook profiles, deactivate, or even delete their Facebook accounts. If you are no longer using Facebook, are concerned about the privacy risks associated with your Facebook data, or just want to delete your Facebook account, you can use these instructions ...

  • How to Deactivate a Facebook Account Image
    How to Deactivate a Facebook Account

    If you are no longer using Facebook, but wish to keep your account, you can deactivate it any time. This allows you to come back to the account whenever you want without losing your data that you have posted to Facebook. Below are instructions explaining how to deactivate your account on both the desktop site and through the mobile app.

  • Restrict What Personal Data Is Shared on the Facebook API Platform Image
    Restrict What Personal Data Is Shared on the Facebook API Platform

    If you enjoy Facebook and want to continue using it, there is a way you can restrict your personal data from being transmitted through the Facebook API to third-party companies and Apps. This tutorial will provide information how to restrict your data from being used by 3rd parties.

  • How to Remove a Firefox Addon or Extension Image
    How to Remove a Firefox Addon or Extension

    While Mozilla Firefox Addons or Extensions are very useful, sometimes an extension can cause bugs, does not work as expected, performs malicious behavior, or you just do not find it useful. As extensions cause Firefox to use more memory than normal, if you do not use an extension, then you should always remove it. This guide will explain how to remove a Firefox addon or extension.

  • How to change the Terminal Services or Remote Desktop Port Image
    How to change the Terminal Services or Remote Desktop Port

    Many organizations that use Remote Desktop Services or Terminal Services are not using a VPN connection before allowing connections to their in-house servers or workstations.  If no VPN is required, this means that the Terminal Server or Remote Desktop is publicly visible and allows connections from anyone on the network and in most cases the Internet.  This is a major security risk ...

 

Comments:

blog comments powered by Disqus
search tutorials

Login

Remember Me
Sign in anonymously