Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Should I Get More Ram?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Bone Idol

Bone Idol

• Members
  • 393 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:31 PM

Posted 11 July 2007 - 06:35 AM

I'm a newbie and I'm finding that my computer is a bit slow.

I'm thinking of getting some more RAM installed into my system.

I'm hoping this might speed it up a little. I'm thinking of doubling what I now have. I'd appreciate any advice.

My specs:

Posted Image

Posted Image

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 usasma

usasma

Still visually handicapped (avatar is memory developed by my Dad

• BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
  • 25,090 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:31 AM

Posted 11 July 2007 - 06:43 AM

Yes, you could use more memory and it would probably make your computer more responsive. But don't expect miracles from it - you'll still need to remove some of the detritus that's accumulated in the system in order to help restore the system's "peppiness". http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/t/44690/slow-computer/
My browser caused a flood of traffic, sio my IP address was banned. Hope to fix it soon. Will get back to posting as soon as Im able.