Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Router

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 GOPHER77

GOPHER77

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:38 PM

Posted 23 June 2007 - 09:25 PM

I'm new to DSL, having just attached yesterday.
My question, if you have time is to ask about a router. The modem that came with DSL is just for this destop. My son wants to be able to use his laptop also. What issues are there with putting in a router? Last evening he tried to attach his laptop with the ethernet cable that was connected to the desktop and that must have messed things up because I had to call today and they walked me through resetting the modem. With that in mind, I'm nervous about trying to attach a router.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 acklan

acklan

Bleepin' cat's meow

• Members
  • 8,529 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:38 PM

Posted 24 June 2007 - 12:28 AM

Setting up a DSL connection for more than one computer is fairly straight forward. It will also depend if the modem has a built in DHCP router. If it dos then all you need it a hub or switch, the modem will take care of all the rest.
If not then you can pick up a router at Walmart (US) that will have you setup in about 10 minutes. I would recommend the Linksys WTR54G. This is a wireless router that can also handle 4 wired network connection. Very easy to setup.