Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help Needed For Wiping Hd And Start Fresh

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 I_am_CanadianEh?

I_am_CanadianEh?

• Members
  • 489 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:36 PM

Posted 22 June 2007 - 02:16 PM

Hello everyone :flowers:

I am now ready to say goodbye to XP and hello to Vista. I've been preparing for over 2 months by carefully researching all of my current software apps and hardware drivers and their behaviour with the new OS. I burned some CD's of all the drivers and software executibles I need once Vista is installed.

However, before I install Vista, I want to completely wipe my hard drive with zeros or whatever..., delete, create, and format partitions.

I have backed up everything I need to, but I need help into which order I should do the following tasks:

Should I wipe the drive first with a specific utility or delete partitions first? What programs do you recommend?

What partitioning, formatting program (other than the one on the Vista DVD) do you recommend?

Also, I will need access to the CD-ROM drive to swap discs after I perform these tasks. Will the CD-ROM drive eject and close after the drive is wiped and XP is erased or will I need a floppy boot disk with CD-ROM support?

Currently I have the following Floppies and ISO's burned.

1) Ultimate Boot CD
2) Partition Logic (Floppy image)