Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Computer Start Up Problem

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 wellbeloved1973

wellbeloved1973

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:51 PM

Posted 18 June 2007 - 01:15 PM

Hi i am new to this so please excuse me if i post in the wrong place or anything!!
I have been having problems on start up for a few weeks when i turn my computer on it crashes leaving me with a blank screen
,funny multi coloured lines or a barcode type picture in the middle of the screen it can take up to 20 mins of switching on and off until it finally comes on properly when it is on it runs perfectly well i am running windows xp home edition,all my spyware and firewalls are up to date i downloaded a registry cleaner which found lots of security issues but this didnt help,I have tried to defragment the hard drive as i was told this may help but it stops at 90% of analysing saying that it has been cancelled due to a error with c system volume restore i would be very grateful if someone could come up with a suggestion i am a complete novice .Thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Queen-Evie

Queen-Evie

Official Bleepin' G.R.I.T.S. (and proud of it)

• Staff Emeritus
  • 16,485 posts
  •  
  • Location:My own little corner of the universe (somewhere in Alabama). It's OK, they know me here

Posted 18 June 2007 - 05:13 PM