Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

New System

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 voxmal

voxmal

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:52 AM

Posted 11 June 2007 - 08:44 AM

I've never built a comp from scratch before but I've been around them for a while and have some basic understanding; so I'm not a complete idiot, but I got the essentials for an ideal system. I'll be building it within the next couple of weeks, have a few friends that I can go to but I'd like to do it myself for learning purposes. What I wanna know is what pieces am I missing (other than the obvious hard drive, drives, monitor, keyboard etc) and would there be any compatibility issues? This is what I'm working with:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 Conroe 2.66GHz
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16819115002

GIGABYTE GA-N680SLI-DQ6 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16813128037

XCLIO STABLEPOWER 850W ATX - 24pin
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16817189015

Case - pretty big
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16811146031

Top it off with a 80gb hd, geforce 8800, 1 or 2gb of ddr2 and I'm guessing I'm gonna need a cooler

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 Ryan 3000

Ryan 3000

• Members
  • 834 posts
  •  

Posted 11 June 2007 - 10:02 AM

My thoughts: