Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Getting Started With Kubuntu

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 wavemaker

wavemaker

• Members
  • 283 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:27 PM

Posted 05 June 2007 - 03:45 PM

Gooday all. As suggested in the title I am new to LINUX and have installed KUBUNTU on to my machine. The first issue I have is that a little warning triangle, bottom right side tells me I have 61 update packages available. When I try to unpack them I get a message informing me that another process is using the packaging system, and that I should terminate that one before trying to proceed. As far as I know I don't have any thing else running so I don't know what to close. I hope that is clear. Any ideas. All help greatly appreciated and thanks in advance. James
When The Going Gets Weird, The Weird Turn Pro. (H.S.T.)

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 joe883

joe883

• Members
  • 229 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:27 AM

Posted 05 June 2007 - 05:43 PM

wavemaker, check out this web site until the
experts arrive:
http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/upgrading

#3 BlackSpyder

BlackSpyder

Bleeping Big Rig

• BC Advisor
  • 2,456 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:27 AM

Posted 05 June 2007 - 06:43 PM