Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Building A Computer?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Avenged

Avenged

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:01 PM

Posted 31 May 2007 - 10:32 PM

Hopefully I'm posting this question in the right section of the Forum. Alright, this is my first attempt at building a computer from scratch. Of course, I've ran into a problem. The first strange thing I noticed is that the power light is on when the computer is off an off when the computer is on. Then, I get no output on the monitor. I don't get any kind of POST beep. Just the fans running and the hard drive, so the computer is getting power. I really hope I just plugged something in wrong. I'm also not sure what I should expect to see if it is working properly. Would it boot to command prompt or something without the OS installed yet? Help would be appreciated. :thumbsup:

Here's a list of the parts I'm using:

Maxtor DiamondMax 21 STM3320820AS 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
Intel Pentium 4 640 Prescott 3.2GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80547PG3200F
EVGA 122-CK-NF63-TR LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-6400C4
EVGA e-GeForce 7900 GS KO NVIDIA 256MB PCI-E Video Card

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Herk

Herk