Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Strange Name In Computer

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 mike4bears

mike4bears

• Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:08 PM

Posted 30 May 2007 - 11:16 PM

hi I'm new to computers and i have problem. on my desktop when i open my network icon there is a name there. first it says owner pc then joshua_gene_gra. my last name starts gra. i right click on the name i get a window with a place to open it when i do i get. windows cannot access \\joshua_gene_gra and diagnostics says it is not a valid host name and make sure computer is turned on and connected to network or contact network administrator. what is going on. i had trend anti virus installed and it quarantine one thing. file name jar_cache54822 c:\user\owner\appdata. are these connected i thank you mike

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 buddy215

buddy215

• 13,514 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:08 PM

Posted 31 May 2007 - 06:31 AM

If you were not having any problems before installing Trend Micro, remove the file from quarantine. Do not delete it. Then run an online scan with Bit Defender. Let us know what if anything it finds.
Run the online scan for Bit Defender in normal mode. Allow it to quarantine whatever it finds.
http://www.bitdefender.com/scan8/ie.html