Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Problem When Trying To Downgrade To Xp

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Ortid

Ortid

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:19 AM

Posted 26 May 2007 - 12:46 PM

I've been using Vista for several months now, but am wishing to install XP on a separate partition of my hard drive.

I've been following this guide which explains how to partition the drive under Vista and then install XP. I've successfully managed to partition my drive and allocate 5GB (which I shall probably increase at a later time), but I encounter a problem when I start the installation process of XP.

The XP recovery disk that I have was supplied by the manufacturer when I bought this computer and it's for the Home edition.

Anyway, when I get to the blue setup screen and it asks to to install XP on an existing partition, none of my partitions are listed on the menu. Instead, I get something like this in the menu:

Unknown Disk
	  (There is no disk in this drive.)
Unknown Disk
Unknown Disk
Unknown Disk

By pressing 'C' to create a new partition does nothing, and if I press enter to proceed, I get the BSOD and am forced to reboot.

Has anyone encountered this problem before or have any suggestions?

Cheers.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 usasma

usasma

Still visually handicapped (avatar is memory developed by my Dad