Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Buying A New Notebook--help!

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 isolde88

isolde88

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:56 PM

Posted 23 May 2007 - 11:52 PM

Hi all. I'm sorry if this is a silly question, but I am woefully inept when it comes to computers. I'm a college student who is buying a notebook for an upcoming semester I'll spend in DC. This will be my primary/only computer during that time and I want to make sure I'll get something I won't crash/break/throw out my window in frustration (Trust me, if its bad and it's possible it will happen to me--I've had people suggest that my desktop and I go into marital counseling). I've read all the reviews I could come across and asked all my tech savy friends, and I'm now down to two options and was wondering if any of you fine, knowledgeable people have a preference.

The First Contestant:

A Gateway MT3707 with a 14.1" screen, 1.6GHz Pentium Dual-Core T2060 with 533MHz frontside bus, 1 GB RAM, 160 GB on the hard drive, ATI RADEON XPRESS 200M graphics with up to 256MB HyperMemory, Vista Home Premium, double layer DVD±RW/CD-RW, some USB ports, a PCMCIA Slot but no Firewire port and all that extra jazz they load onto 'em.

The Second Contender: