Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I Was Foolish And I Opened An .exe File That I Shouldn't Have...

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 lucyjee

lucyjee

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:31 AM

Posted 22 May 2007 - 09:55 PM

I am a novice when it comes to stuff like this, i have asked my techy friend what to do and he told me how foolish i was to open an .exe file without checking how trustworthy it was.

I downloaded an winace.exe file which did not setup the software

My computer was fine for a few days then my desktop settings went screwy, i turned off my computer and when i rebooted i couldn't get past my virus software (mcaffee) log in page. The rest of the desktop looked normal but i couldn't click on anything

I opened in safe mode and ran a virus scan but mcaffee didn't pick up anything. I deleted the bad .exe file. I got all of "my document" files off the computer on to my laptop which is fine.

I restarted my computer today and it booted up not in safe mode and now it seems to be working fine, however i am worried that there is still something lurking in my system, registry etc somewhere and i want to make sure that there is nothing left which will stuff up my computer further down the track.

What would you recommend?

p.s. using Windows XP Professional

Edited by lucyjee, 22 May 2007 - 10:02 PM.