Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Some Say This Is A Trojan

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Pneumatomania

Pneumatomania

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:51 AM

Posted 14 May 2007 - 04:49 PM

I am using a Dell XPS 410 with Vista Home Premium (purchased in Feb) and running Office 2007. I am a novice depending on security from my Linksys router and NIS 2007 and even some common sense.
However, of late there have been emails that I cannot explain. For example, one of the first took the first name and first letter of the last name of someone in my address book then used the e-address I had for my friend. It had to come from my address book because I had his address wrong and the email said this message is from "xxxx x" then gave the e-address from me.
This email (sent in March) said it was sent "via Flixster by {name of friend with email from my address book}" to a variation of my primary e-address. The subject line said, "xxxx x has sent you a private message" and it is marked as high importance. The body of the text starts with the Flixster web and ds /serviet/invite/650915076azaA650923531Btlkhln3CM signed "xxx x". And finally it shows the email sent from "xxx x" with the wrong e-address from my address book. This is a close friend, but I had seen him in person and talked by phone and had not sent email in months.