Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Microsoft Windows Xp Will Not Start

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 erwatts

erwatts

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:58 PM

Posted 26 April 2007 - 01:49 PM

Hello Everyone,
This is my first time using this site, but I'm trying to help a co-workers who's computer's window xp will not start up. She is getting an error message that says:

We apologize for the inconvenience, but windows did not start successfully. A recent hardware or software change might have caused this.

If your computer stopped responding, restarted unexpectedly or was automatically shut down to protect your files, and folders, choose Last Known Good Configuration to revert to the most recent settings that worked.

If a previous startup attempt was interrupted due to a power failure or because the power or reset button was pressed, or if you are not sure what caused the problem choose start windows normally.

Safe Mode
Safe Mode with Networking
Safe mode with command prompt last known good configuration (your most recent settings that worked)
Start windows normally

Use the up and down arrow keys to highlight to your choice.

And then it goes to a Countdown until windows starts.

After she received this message she choose to start windows normally and then nothing happened.