Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Tcp/ip Issues

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 carnivalofsorts

carnivalofsorts

• Members
  • 100 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:16 PM

Posted 26 April 2007 - 05:05 AM

Greetings one and all.

I'm pretty new to the idea of having more than one computer sharing my internet connection at home, so forgive me if this is all spelled out very simply.

The house has a cable connection.
Up until recently, my house-mate was connecting her Mac directly to the modem by the ethernet cable.
When i moved in, i bought a wireless router.
The connection is not set up so that the cable modem is connected to the wireless router via an ethernet cable, and then subsequently connected back to the Mac via another ethernet cable, leaving me with wireless access on my laptop.
This was working fine for about a week, and then suddenly its stopped working.
My laptop is showing the connection, and allowing me to connect to it, but i have no internet access.
I thought this might be an issue with the router, so i connected it to my laptopto reconfigure it, but this made no difference.
I spoke to the ISP tech support who asked me to try a number of very basic trouble shooting steps, but when i opened the cmd prompt and typed ipconfig i get a message saying

Windows IP Configuration