Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

My Computer Won't Boot

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 JohnWho

JohnWho

Who was running the store?

• Members
  • 2,611 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:25 AM

Posted 25 April 2007 - 04:26 PM

Well, it wouldn't and here's the scenario:

I've been running it for over two years without any problem, but when I went to boot it, it stopped asking me to "insert a boot disk and press any key to continue", or something similar. If you set your system in BIOS to boot off of the CD ROM only, and insert an non-bootable CD - it's that error.

The system has two IDE DVD ROMs, and two HDs - one as Primary on IDE but mainly used as an "in case" backup drive, and the other as Primary on SATA.

I changed the boot sequence in CMOS to HD only, thinking that somehow it may have gotten "confused", but that didn't make any difference. Then I opened the case, and disconnected the power cable on the IDE HD drive in order to insure that the only bootable drive that CMOS would find is the main SATA drive.