Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Cannot Open Any File. All Supporting Program Missing.

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 alexpatel

alexpatel

• Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:11 PM

Posted 15 April 2007 - 06:30 PM

I am newbie here so pardon me if i am not following any rules of this website.

Let me tell you first the issue i have with my computer:

Suddenly yesterday when i started computer i see all my icon missing file extension association. All file/program has .lnk extension now. when i double click on any file it pop up window saying "windows cannot open this file. File: Filename.LNK. To open this file, windows need to know the program created it. Windows can go online to look it up automatically or you can manually select from a list of program on your computer".

I tried system restore but that didn't help. I can't open up regedit from run because this issue/problem don't let me. Neither i can open up any file or program in control panel. I THink this is all caused because of ad-watch Se professional.