Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Lost Windows File

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 orlandob

orlandob

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:45 AM

Posted 09 April 2007 - 04:49 AM

Hi
(Windows Xp Pro Edition)
I am not a techie, so I may not use the correct terms, so please bear with me, but I found a virus on my laptop and then ran bitedender, which couldn't disinfect so deleted the infection. Now when I log in to windows it says that this file could not be found/run. The file name does not mean anything to me at all. My computer then says my system as experiened a serious error, so presume what I am missing is something vital.

The file name is

C:windows\system32\owbggafrxt\services.exe

so what do I do now? please help, your guiadance will be much appreciated.

Orlandob

Edited by orlandob, 09 April 2007 - 04:51 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 acklan

acklan

Bleepin' cat's meow

• Members
  • 8,529 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:45 PM

Posted 09 April 2007 - 04:55 AM

Go to the Start button the to Run. type in sfc /scannow and press enter. you will need your Windows CD, Recovery CD, or Installation CD depending on what brand computer you need. Just be prepared to insert the CD when prompted.
"2007 & 2008 Windows Shell/User Award"

#3 orlandob

orlandob
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •