Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Driver Problems

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Dave Clark

Dave Clark

• Members
  • 213 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:57 PM

Posted 01 April 2007 - 06:39 AM

Hi,
I,m having problems with my computer continually rebooting since I upgraded my Graphics card and installed an extra 2Gb memory.
I'm a beginner to hardware installation but felt confident enough to carry out the upgrades.
My problem arose after the installation of my new graphics card,"Nvidia GeForce 7600 GS".
I followed the quick installation guide included but later discovered the full guide on the cd supplied. I had already installed the new card when I read that I should have uninstalled the driver for the existing Graphics card "MSI G4 MX440 SE-T" before removing it. I upgraded because I wanted the facility of 2 monitors.
After a short while the computer rebooted on it's own accord and continues to do so. It does not reboot as often if I only use one monitor but it is still unstable.
I ran "Winternals Navigator" to see what it said about the cause of the crash and it said strong possibility of Graphics driver.
I've looked in add/remove programs for graphics drivers but I'm unsure as to which driver/s, if any, I should remove. Also even if I found the correct driver would the removal solve my problem?

Regards,

Dave