Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Questions About Hardware

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Commander Gman

Commander Gman

• Members
  • 1,214 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:36 AM

Posted 29 March 2007 - 02:40 AM

Hello everyone :flowers:
I am currently upgrading my pc but id like to know the following
Pls.bare with me for i am new in this upgrading thing
1.)Is the RAM separate? You can transfer RAM?
2.)Whats the difference between RAM & GHZ or MHZ
(im getting a bit confused :thumbsup: ) if i am correct,hertz is computer speed
while RAM is for how many programs can run at the same time?
3.)Ex.you get a new motherboard,you will want to install the driver if i am correct,
you can download it at the website or the CD provided?
4.)I dont get why people buy new motherboards...what exactly are the benefits anyway?
thanks in advance
-Commander Gman :trumpet:

Motherboard: MSI P35 Neo-F (Socket 775 LGA) Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40 Ghz Kentsfield Chipset: Intel P35 Graphics Card: Nvidia Geforce GT 440 Memory: 2x 2GB DDR2 800 RAM Storage: 1x IDE 80GB, 1x SATA II 500 GB, 1x External 500GB HD Power Supply: 600W Power supply Monitor: Dual screen set-up Casing: Mini-ATX Fan(s): 1x 80mm silent fan OS: Windows XP SP3

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Budapest

Budapest

Bleepin' Cynic

• 23,573 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:36 AM