Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Delete System Restore Files


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 gringa

gringa

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:07:41 PM

Posted 12 March 2007 - 11:16 AM

Mcafee detect ed some spyware that it was unable to clean .I was able to delete a spyware or trojen in safe mode to the recycle bin and than emptied that. but now Mcafee pops up saying it is in system restore folder Can someone tell me how to delete these files so I can create a new clean restore point,Thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 HitSquad

HitSquad

    You're Bleepin' or you're Weepin'


  • Members
  • 1,573 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Momma
  • Local time:06:41 PM

Posted 12 March 2007 - 11:34 AM

From MS: :thumbsup:

To delete all the restore points on your machine disable and re-enable system restore on the system: Go to the Control Panel ('Start > Control Panel') and open the 'System' applet. Click on the 'System Restore' tab on the system applet. Check mark 'turn off system restore on all drives' and click the apply button. Then uncheck the box again to re-enable System Restore on the machine and click OK.



#3 gringa

gringa
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:07:41 PM

Posted 12 March 2007 - 11:45 AM

Thank for your reply Hit Squad I kept looking for the answer did a google search and found this It's from here : Problems with System Restore

There are some problems associated with System Restore when it comes to viruses. When restore points are created they are stored in a directory that is accessible only to the System account and not to a user. This keeps the restore points safe from misuse and tampering. Unfortunately this also means that any virus scan software you may have installed can not scan the files located there as well. This causes a problem if a file that is infected with a virus gets backed up into a restore point because now the anti-virus software can not clean it. Now if you ever restore from a restore point, that file that is infected will be introduced back into your system.

With this in mind, if you find that you are infected with a virus, hijacker, or spyware and want to make sure you do not get reinfected if you restore a restore point, you should turn System Restore off and then back on again to clear all the restore points. This will guarantee that their are no infected files that could be restored. Thanks to all and hope this helps someone else Here is the location / Operating Systems > Windows XP Home and Professional > Delete System Restore Files

Edited by gringa, 12 March 2007 - 11:47 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users