Jump to content


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.


Suspicious File

  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 dcwash


  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Local time:02:58 PM

Posted 09 March 2007 - 01:18 PM

I read a Usenet post earlier this week that suggested possible Messenger Service spam (or maybe it was Smitfraud). It was a fake warning and an enticement to go to a particular Web site and download a "registry cleaner." I'm curious to know if people analyze samples. The suspicious file can be found at:

hxxp://www.clean32.c*m/setup.exe (asterisk used in place of "o")

I'm sure this is a scam. How can this Web site be taken off the Web?

Mod Edit: Disabled link.

Edited by quietman7, 10 March 2007 - 07:49 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)


#2 quietman7


    Bleepin' Janitor

  • Global Moderator
  • 52,073 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Virginia, USA
  • Local time:02:58 PM

Posted 10 March 2007 - 07:41 AM

clean32.com is listed as a malware site here.

It appears to be related to getting a user to download Registry Cleaner, a rogue program that claims to fix registry problems. One of the obvious signs of smitfraud is a fake warning alert that entices you to go to another site to download a program to correct the problems identified by the warning alert. However, the link you are getting is an executable to download a setup file.

If the message alert on the title bar says Messenger Service, it could be spam provided by the Messenger Service but just the same the link is leading to malware so clicking any links should be avoided. In this case it would be best to "Disable the Messenger Service in XP"

If the alert was coming from a flashing icon in the system tray that generates balloon messages or in the middle of the desktop, then the user is probably already infected and would need to follow the self-help guide How to remove Registry Cleaner.

Edited by quietman7, 10 March 2007 - 07:53 AM.

Windows Insider MVP 2017-2018
Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2016
Microsoft MVP Consumer Security 2007-2015 kO7xOZh.gif
Member of UNITE, Unified Network of Instructors and Trusted Eliminators

If I have been helpful & you'd like to consider a donation, click 38WxTfO.gif

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users