Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Asktbar Removal

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 yowie

yowie

• Members
  • 37 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:39 AM

Posted 08 March 2007 - 05:10 AM

Hello to all. Although I am new to VISTA (I suppose most of us are) I came across an unusual folder. C:/Program Files/AskTBar. I would like to remove this if possible please. I am running AVG 7.5 which is updated, Ad-Aware Personal SE also up to date, and Spy-Bot Search and Destroy, also updated. Can somebody please help?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 HitSquad

HitSquad

You're Bleepin' or you're Weepin'

• Members
  • 1,573 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:39 PM

Posted 08 March 2007 - 05:52 AM

Hi yowie, welcome to BC. :huh:
It appears to be the Ask Jeeves toolbar.
To remove it, start with the instructions here. If it won't go, it may be because your browser is using it.
It installs itself as a browser add-on, which may have to be disabled first.
Let us know.

#3 yowie

yowie
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 37 posts
  •  

Posted 08 March 2007 - 07:07 AM

Hi Hitman and thanks for the welcome.

I checked out that site but to no avail as I have no added toolbar in my browser. I am using the current version of Mozilla Firefox.

AskTBar has basically created it's own folder, that's all I can see anyway.

Any other advise would be greatly appreciated