Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Learning Web Design

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 mr phil

mr phil

• Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:12 PM

Posted 06 March 2007 - 09:57 AM

Hi all,

I'm looking for a little advice on how to progress my knowledge of Web Design. I have basic knowledge and understanding of HTML and have hand coded a very basic site from scratch (this was along time ago). I have a basic knowledge of Dreamweaver and have published a basic site on the net. Since this i have picked up the basics in Photoshop and used hotspots and roll over's in Dreamweaver but have not used Flash itself.

I was wondering what would be the best way to progress to be able to work as a Senior Web Designer or Web Developer?

Is the fundamental a thorough knowledge of HTML istelf or is this just an advantage. I have heard about the following but only have a rough if any idea of what they are/do:

CSS
PHP
JAVA
.NET
MySQL
Apache
Pearl

Which are necesary and what would be the best way (order) to learn them?

Thanks in advance
Phil

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 groovicus

groovicus

• Security Colleague
  • 9,963 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:12 PM

Posted 06 March 2007 - 10:15 AM

I was wondering what would be the best way to progress to be able to work as a Senior Web Designer or Web Developer?