Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Admin Password


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Commander Gman

Commander Gman

  • Members
  • 1,214 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Local time:04:42 PM

Posted 05 March 2007 - 05:59 AM

Lets say you're the admin of the computer,then you'd like to set you're password,does the password get lost if your computer gets reformat? meaning,when this happens,no matter if you type the password at the log-in page,the password woudnt work the next time you log-in? or does the settings you made go back to default allowing you to access your computer

Motherboard: MSI P35 Neo-F (Socket 775 LGA) Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40 Ghz Kentsfield Chipset: Intel P35 Graphics Card: Nvidia Geforce GT 440 Memory: 2x 2GB DDR2 800 RAM Storage: 1x IDE 80GB, 1x SATA II 500 GB, 1x External 500GB HD Power Supply: 600W Power supply Monitor: Dual screen set-up Casing: Mini-ATX Fan(s): 1x 80mm silent fan OS: Windows XP SP3


BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


m

#2 nigglesnush85

nigglesnush85

  • Members
  • 4,371 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Local time:08:42 AM

Posted 05 March 2007 - 08:39 AM

Everythime I or a friend has to reformat and start again, the old paswords don't work, and we are forced to use new ones. I would imagine that the bios passwords remain as the bios doesn't get wiped.
Regards,

Alan.

#3 Andrew

Andrew

    Bleepin' Night Watchman


  • Moderator
  • 8,250 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Right behind you
  • Local time:12:42 AM

Posted 05 March 2007 - 06:06 PM

When you wipe the hard drive and reinstall Windows, everything about the previous installation is gone: passwords, accounts, settings, programs, Windows patches. Nothing remains.

#4 Commander Gman

Commander Gman
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 1,214 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Local time:04:42 PM

Posted 06 March 2007 - 05:40 AM

When you wipe the hard drive and reinstall Windows, everything about the previous installation is gone: passwords, accounts, settings, programs, Windows patches. Nothing remains.


I know the password gets erase but....
Even the setting that you made a password for a particular account? goes back to default?
meaning,you can log-in without entering anymore passwords and skip that part?

I've asked also other people they say that"Once you've reformat your pc with a password on an account,you can no longer log-in since there is no valid password since it got erased"

Edited by Commander Gman, 06 March 2007 - 05:43 AM.

Motherboard: MSI P35 Neo-F (Socket 775 LGA) Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40 Ghz Kentsfield Chipset: Intel P35 Graphics Card: Nvidia Geforce GT 440 Memory: 2x 2GB DDR2 800 RAM Storage: 1x IDE 80GB, 1x SATA II 500 GB, 1x External 500GB HD Power Supply: 600W Power supply Monitor: Dual screen set-up Casing: Mini-ATX Fan(s): 1x 80mm silent fan OS: Windows XP SP3


#5 Budapest

Budapest

    Bleepin' Cynic


  • Moderator
  • 23,571 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Local time:06:42 PM

Posted 06 March 2007 - 05:53 AM

I think one way to look at it is that when you format and reinstall, all the accounts that were on the computer are totally deleted and new accounts are created. So no information from the old accounts remains.
The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who haven't got it.

—George Bernard Shaw

#6 Commander Gman

Commander Gman
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 1,214 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Local time:04:42 PM

Posted 06 March 2007 - 06:10 AM

ok,if thats for sure that any info about the old account gets erased,I get it t.y. :thumbsup:

Motherboard: MSI P35 Neo-F (Socket 775 LGA) Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40 Ghz Kentsfield Chipset: Intel P35 Graphics Card: Nvidia Geforce GT 440 Memory: 2x 2GB DDR2 800 RAM Storage: 1x IDE 80GB, 1x SATA II 500 GB, 1x External 500GB HD Power Supply: 600W Power supply Monitor: Dual screen set-up Casing: Mini-ATX Fan(s): 1x 80mm silent fan OS: Windows XP SP3


#7 stevealmighty

stevealmighty

    Bleepin' WormBreath


  • Members
  • 2,629 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Upstate NY
  • Local time:03:42 AM

Posted 06 March 2007 - 07:49 AM

When you reformat a drive, everything gets erased....not just things with windows. If you have a partitioned drive, then reformating deletes everything that was the part of the partition that didn't have windows installed on it.

Basically, reformating makes your drive like brand new, right out of the box.
War produces veterans, wounded both physically and mentally. They have sacrificed for us.....and it is now our job to help these veterans, as they have already helped us in ways we will never know, in ways that we cannot fathom, and in ways that we take granted every day.
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users