Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Folders Read Only

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Darren De Wilde

Darren De Wilde

• Members
  • 208 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:01 AM

Posted 20 February 2007 - 08:46 PM

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Vista like millions of others. So far I like it. However I noticed that when attempting to rename a folder I get access is denied. I tried unticking the read only attribute but it just re-applies after closing the properties dialogue. I was on a network at the office but that doesnt seem to matter as i still cannot change the attribute.

All advice is much appreciated, I do have administrator rights last time i checked.

ThanQ all for your time and expertise.
Darren

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 usasma

usasma

Still visually handicapped (avatar is memory developed by my Dad

• BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
  • 25,074 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:01 AM

Posted 20 February 2007 - 08:50 PM

More than likely you do not have the permissions to make this change - and that's why it goes back when you try to change it. Vista is much more secure than XP - so the changes are that much more difficult.