Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Lan Cable Unplugged

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 TheMainEvent

TheMainEvent

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:48 PM

Posted 14 February 2007 - 05:05 PM

Alright I'm not too good at explaining things so bare with me lol. I have a Dell Inspiron 5100 laptop running off of Windows XP Home Edition, and my computer connects to the internet through a wireless connection. Recently when turning the computer on I got a blue screen, but it disappeared before I could read it and the computer booted up normally so I thought nothing of it. Once I logged into my account I got a notification saying that my LAN connection wasn't working because a network cable was unplugged. I unplugged/plugged in the Linksys router, but it didn't help. I checked that the connection was enabled so that's not the problem either. My brother also runs off of the same system, but everythings working fine for him. Are there any viruses/trojans that could be causing this or is it more likely a hardware problem? If you need any other information let me know and I'll post it up as soon as I can, thanks in advance.

Moderator Edit: Moved topic to more appropriate forum. ~ Animal

Edited by Animal, 14 February 2007 - 07:37 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Andrew

Andrew

Bleepin' Night Watchman

• 8,259 posts
  •