Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Pc Keeps Restarting Iteself. Please Help.

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 kstone77

kstone77

• Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:44 AM

Posted 10 February 2007 - 09:14 AM

:thumbsup: Please help, i'm a pretty inexperienced newbie :flowers:

My computer keeps randomly restarting itself and appears to be getting worse.

I sent the "windows has just recovered from a serious error....." report to microsoft and was told the problem was a driver signing.

I then disabled the automatic restart option in order to get the BSOD (blue screen of death) and got the following error code.

*** STOP: 0x0000008E (0x0000005, 0xBF9DA2C9, 0xB64EFB80, 0x00000000)

*** nv4_disp.dll - Address BF9DA2C9 Base at BF9D4000, Datestamp 439abe39

Does anybody know what this means because I cant relate the above to anything.

massive THANK YOU to anyone that replies as I just don't no where to begin.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 pip22

pip22

• Banned
  • 341 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:44 AM

Posted 10 February 2007 - 09:29 AM

nv4_disp.dll is a component of the 'display driver' for the NVidia graphics card inside your PC. It's that which is causing the incompatibility problem.

Updating the NVidia driver may solve the problem:

http://www.nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp