Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help On Networking!

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 wendyjazz

wendyjazz

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:28 AM

Posted 09 February 2007 - 03:07 AM

i am a windows xp user and im new to the networking field i have a few questions but first i shall tell u how my computers are networked

i have a zte router which is connected to a broadband internet service to split the connection between 2 computers i am using a hub and cat 5 cables

i was successful in networking these 2 computers using the create a small office or home network!!

now i would like to learn how to allow restricted access to the hard disks like is there a way to have password enabled access to certain hard disks or certain files or folders

any additional information that anyone can share on this topic wud be extremely helpful

also i want to connect more computers using this hub but i don't want the internet connection on those comps is there a way to do that or will i have to use a new hub or switch for those computers

thanks a lot

wendy

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 usasma

usasma

Still visually handicapped (avatar is memory developed by my Dad

• BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
  • 25,091 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:58 PM

Posted 09 February 2007 - 08:52 AM