Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Prevx1 Jail - What Do I Do?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 gowby

gowby

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:04:39 AM

Posted 20 January 2007 - 01:46 AM

Alrighty, I just recently downloaded a trial version of Prevx1, and I've run a scan and it has shown me I have malware on my computer. It then took the malware and placed it into a 'jail'. I then have the option to move it, or delete it.

my question is that if I click 'delete all', will it just be deleting the malware FROM the jail, or from my whole computer?

Many thanks.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 whintersby

whintersby

  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:09:39 PM

Posted 20 January 2007 - 05:20 AM

I can confirm that by hitting "Delete all" you will be removing any malware from both the Jail AND your computer.

Hope that helps :thumbsup:

Edited by whintersby, 20 January 2007 - 05:22 AM.


#3 gowby

gowby
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:04:39 AM

Posted 20 January 2007 - 06:59 AM

Thank you very much for the confirmation ^^
Many thanks!

#4 quietman7

quietman7

    Bleepin' Janitor


  • Global Moderator
  • 51,605 posts
  • ONLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Virginia, USA
  • Local time:04:39 PM

Posted 20 January 2007 - 11:10 PM

When a program quarantines a file or moves it into the "jail", that file is safely held there until you take action to delete it. The reason for doing this is to prevent deletion of an essential file that may have been flagged as a "false positive". You could then restore the file. Doing this also allows you to view and investigate the files while keeping them from harming your computer. Thus, this is just an added safety measure. You can always delete them afterwards.
.
.
Windows Insider MVP 2017-2018
Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2016
Microsoft MVP Consumer Security 2007-2015 kO7xOZh.gif
Member of UNITE, Unified Network of Instructors and Trusted Eliminators

If I have been helpful & you'd like to consider a donation, click 38WxTfO.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users