Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Looking For Linux Os Replacement On Laptop.

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 C J.

C J.

• Members
  • 50 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:36 AM

Posted 16 January 2007 - 03:30 PM

Hi all, I'm new to the idea of using a build of Linux. I've always been a windows person, but I have this toshiba Sattelite laptop running Windows ME, 770 mhz P3, 60GB Hd.. 128 mb ram - that has run into some problems, after a failed attempt to update it to XP-SP2. I've been thinking about making a Live CD that can write back to the harddrive, (without upsetting ME install.) Any suggestions?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 BlackSpyder

BlackSpyder

Bleeping Big Rig

• BC Advisor
  • 2,456 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:36 AM

Posted 16 January 2007 - 06:57 PM

almost any live distro will do that. knoppix, and puppy both offer saving to the HDD last I checked, multi-session cds (saves data back to the cd), or load in RAM which allows you to remove the live cd and use your cd burner to save

Posted Image

#3 Max-T

Max-T

• Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:36 PM

Posted 27 January 2007 - 03:52 PM

Ubuntu is a great linux distro, you could do the following

-Use an Ubuntu live CD.
-Use an Ubuntu live CD to install to the hard drive.
I would install it to the Hard drive because you can do that without messing up ME.