Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Mother Board Compatability?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 shadowknuxem

shadowknuxem

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:17 PM

Posted 16 January 2007 - 12:50 AM

I am a total noob when it comes to what is inside of a computer, with that being said I need help. I amy trying to upgrade an older computer to run with Windows XP, but I have no Idea what my Mother Board needs to be compatable with, all I know is I need one. So here is my question, does compatability matter? And if it does then what do I need it to be compatable with?
Here is a list of Items that I want to order, just incase you need to know.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16820141164
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16822144415
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16819104241

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Wildabeast

Wildabeast

Bleeping Lurker...

• Members
  • 1,260 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:17 PM

Posted 16 January 2007 - 01:06 AM

Yes, compatability means everything. Your ram must be compatable, as the cpu. What is your motherboard make and model? With that we can find out what ram goes with it and what cpu will work. The hard drive is a SATA and not all motherboards will have a connection for them. :thumbsup: