Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

New Motherboard And Processor Need To Reinstall Xp?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 quayhouse

quayhouse

• Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:19 PM

Posted 20 December 2006 - 05:22 AM

Hi

I am very new to this kind of thing and my pc skills are limited here goes! i took my sons pc to a computer fair yesterday for new graphics card as it was playing up. As it had old motherboard etc i was told upgrading with new motherboard and processor would be necessary as it was on its way out.
we did this and also had a new case with him using what bits he could from old pc and when he finally put them in he told me i'd need to reinstall windows and then the driver disc for motherboard.
i have tried to do it this morning setting pc to boot from cd drive as primary and hdd as secondary. When i restart it wont boot up from disc jus makes sounds as tho the drive is workingetc. if i dont select anything it will reboot and the message says cannot load windows missing dll for kernel or something like that.