Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Asdf.exe And More Problems

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 livelychati

livelychati

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:51 PM

Posted 18 December 2006 - 02:39 PM

Hello everyone,

I'm new here, and I'm new to problems of this sort. I've had a virus on my computer only once before - about a year ago. Any help will be much appreciated!

Now, just looking through my Windows explorer in order to determine the size of some files I noticed two things that I never saw before (both on C:\):
1 - an executable file asdf.exe with a creation date of Nov. 14, 2006 and
2 - a file-folder that contained one text file only, but quite large for a txt file - 284kb. Both the txt file and the folder it's in are named 43f01b56c3a4b5becc7eb561 with the creadtion date of No. 17, 2006. I read that the asdf thingie is actually a virus, but when I right-clicked on it and chose "scan with Norton" it returned a clean bill - no virus!!! The same with the funny-name file folder and the txt file. I do believe both are "evil entities" and my first instinct was just to delete them. However, I thought better of it and decided to get help first.