Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Xp Hangs On Loading Screen

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 RonskiUK

RonskiUK

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:03 AM

Posted 17 December 2006 - 02:02 PM

Hi,

I've got a new PC in the last 5 weeks & it's my first time using XP, it's all been working fine up until a couple of days ago. I could really do with some help as I fear I've made it worse :thumbsup:

It just started to hang on the XP loading screen, the bar is moving then the screen fickers & it locks up. I hadn't installed anything but possibly a windows update was installed. I can load into safe mode (with networking) & I've tried a couple of things but I havent got anywhere so far. I'd really like not to have to do a full re-install of windows.

* Reading through this forum & others I've tried a system restore from Safe Mode, I went back a few days when the machine was working fine & it still hangs, oh also now I dont have any points to do a restore on so I must have broke that somehow?

* In Safe Mode I re-installed the Nvidia drivers (thinking the flicker had something to do with it) but it still hangs at the same point.

* In Safe Mode I tried removing the last 2 windows updates but it still hangs.

* I ran a virus checker & spyware checker from Safe Mode & found no problems.