Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Why Not Gentoo?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Doc.Logix

Doc.Logix

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:23 AM

Posted 16 December 2006 - 01:33 PM

Greetings all,

I have been a Linux user since Linux wasn't cool. In my work as a self-employed computer tech, I have really grown to appreciate Linux as 99.9% of the service work I do is on MS Windows systems.

I have noticed in this forum in perticular in response to the newbies, there are many very good suggestions put forth on what distro to use, all have there good and bad points, and I have played with most all of them including the SCO and BSD families.

But what I have noticed is no one seems to suggest Gentoo Linux, and was curious as to why that is. Of all the distro's I have used, I have finally settled on Gentoo as my standard. I find that tit is very professionally put together, easy to work with, of course when you have a good understanding of Linux. The documentation for it is nicely availible in abundance, and it is free, unless you wish to order it on cd as opposed to downloading and burning it yourself.