Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Confused Noob Here, Asking Advice

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 stephen1972

stephen1972

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:38 PM

Posted 16 December 2006 - 10:30 AM

Hi I have a Sony Vaio VGC-RB30. I'm going to order a better hard drive to replace the factory one, I've never replaced a hd before. I think the instructions are supposed to be included with the new hd and I should probably be able to get through that ok I think. But I'm worried about everything working after that =\

With Windows XP, I don't have an install disc for it, it's preinstalled on my computer. I can order the recovery discs for my pc from Sony but no idea if they'll even work when I replace the hd.

Would the factory restore discs work do you think? Should I do something else to prepare for changing the hd? I'm confused and not sure what to expect, I'm not sure what questions to ask. Sorry in advance if this is annoying. :thumbsup:

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Joshuacat

Joshuacat

01001010 01000011

• Members
  • 1,950 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:38 PM

Posted 16 December 2006 - 10:47 AM