Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Learning To Program

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 gkazule

gkazule

• Members
  • 60 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:16 AM

Posted 08 December 2006 - 09:23 PM

Hello,
I am thinking of learning to write programmes, but have no idea where to start. I have never tried this before, and was wondering if anyone could give me a good idea of which language to start with, etc. (I have read a little about C++, but I'm not sure if I should start elsewhere or not. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 OxYgEn

OxYgEn

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:16 PM

Posted 09 December 2006 - 05:08 AM

You could try learning python or pawn first, they're easier than C++.

But if you want to start with C++, go to this site :

www.cplusplus.com

#3 jgweed

jgweed

• Members
  • 28,473 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:16 AM

Posted 09 December 2006 - 10:40 AM

Read this thread, which discusses at length and from various points of view, the very question you are asking:

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/t/1817/what-programming-language-should-i-start-with/

If you have a somewhat logical bent to your mind, are willing to pay attention to detail, and enjoy figuring out problems by yourself, you would certainly enjoy writing code.
Regards,
John