Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Which Computer, Too Many Choices!

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 kevin92

kevin92

• Members
  • 75 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:29 AM

Posted 29 November 2006 - 06:30 PM

Hi, I'm in the market for a new computer, and I have some knowledge of what to be looking for, but I need some assistance in which one is right for me. I found this computer http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/proddetai...1647&catid= which I think is a good choice at that price.

Also, regarding that computer, is it a bad idea to be buying a refurbished computer?

Thanks for your help!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 jgweed

jgweed

• Members
  • 28,473 posts
  •  

Posted 29 November 2006 - 07:57 PM

Before we can even begin to give advice, it would be useful for us to know the kinds of things for which you will be using the computer, and what price-range you have.

Purchasing a refurbished computer is only a good idea if there is a decent warranty, and it is done by a reputable company. Generally, computers are returned for either major reasons, or simply silly ones; the problem is that you don't know which.
Generally, there are very good sales during the next few weeks, especially as retailers want to dump non-Vista ready computers, or get customers to purchase one ready for Vista, but wait for the installation.
Cheers,
John