Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Hangs When Search My Computer Icon Is Selected

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 knorrtech

knorrtech

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:24 PM

Posted 18 November 2006 - 03:05 PM

Hello Everyone,
This is my first time on this forum, but I have noticed this site is very popular and looks very interesting. I am fixing my son's computer. when I click on "My computer" the search light keeps searching for minutes about 1-5 on average.

It then will show device. I found a fix months ago which directed me to turn on or off a window service. But I did not write it down and can not find the fix.

I did clean up the drive, run spybot, AVG scanned but problem persists. Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks
Pat :thumbsup:

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 DemonSui

DemonSui

• Members
  • 325 posts
  •  

Posted 18 November 2006 - 03:07 PM

when you rightclick, or leftclick (open)
Let free your emotions so I can destroy them!

PSP M33 USER.

MY new PC is a laptop and I love it.

#3 Enthusiast

Enthusiast

• Members
  • 5,898 posts
  •  

Posted 18 November 2006 - 03:31 PM

See if the following helps:

Kellys Korner - 157 on the right

And 83 on the right if applicable

http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_tweaks.htm

#4 tg1911

tg1911

Lord Spam Magnet

• Members
  • 19,274 posts
  •