Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Upgrading From Outlook Express To Outlook - Problem

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 sipickles

sipickles

• Members
  • 28 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:09 PM

Posted 18 November 2006 - 04:10 AM

Hi,

I am new to bleepingcomputer. It's excellent!

My question is this:

At work I have upgraded my computer recently. The new PC runs windows XP home SP2 with Microsoft Office 2003 (plus upgrades). As a result, the email client is Microsoft Outlook.

I have my emails from my old machine saved as .eml files on an external harddrive. This was using Outlook Express. My problem is that XP calls .eml files 'Outlook Express Email Message', and consequently opens them in Outlook Express, not outlook.

So I tried right-click>Open with... and browsed for outlook. All this achieves is creating a new blank outlook email with the old .eml as an attachment. Not the idea!

Is there anyway I can convert the files to open in outlook, not outlook express, so they can be replied to, forwarded, etc.

Or can I configure Outlook better?

Thanks

Simon

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 HitSquad

HitSquad

You're Bleepin' or you're Weepin'

• Members
  • 1,573 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:09 PM

Posted 18 November 2006 - 06:30 AM

Hi Simon, welcome to BC.