Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Could Webhancer Attach Itself To Other Pc's On My Network?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Opus2

Opus2

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:42 AM

Posted 15 November 2006 - 08:14 AM

Hello everyone. I'm new to Bleeping Computer and to forums so please bare with me. My question involves Webhancer (spyware) and our home network. If I download a program that has Webhancer attached to it, could that computer spread Webhancer to other PC's on our home network?
I recently downloaded a program that had Webhancer bundled with it. When I discovered what I had done, I removed the program and (as for as I could tell through file searches) successfully removed webhancer. Through some research, and from what someone explained in a BC forum ["WebHancer modifies the Windows Sockets configuration, binding itself to Winsock so that all packets are passed through WebHancer"]. However, does Webhancer stay contained to that one computer or will the packets from all of the PC's on our home network pass through Webhancer? My assumption is that it would stay on that PC and only monitor traffic from the infected PC but I am not that computer savvy to understand packets, sockets, nor advanced networking.