Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Problem Turning On Computer

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 zagnut

zagnut

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:38 AM

Posted 13 November 2006 - 10:51 PM

Hello, little new here and I'm not too good at intros, so I'll go to my problem. Basically, it turns on in a sleep-like mode. By that, I mean every time I try to turn my computer on, the light on the tower is orange. I have restarted it many times, yet it won't turn on. If you have any idea, it could help. The moniter works, though. If you need to know more, feel free to ask.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Enthusiast

Enthusiast

• Members
  • 5,898 posts
  •  

Posted 13 November 2006 - 10:55 PM

Do you hear the fans start?

Does anything show up on the screen at all - can you see the bios loading?

#3 zagnut

zagnut
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  

Posted 13 November 2006 - 11:06 PM

The fans don't start and the monitor shows the self test message. As for the bios, I've no idea.

#4 Enthusiast

Enthusiast

• Members
  • 5,898 posts
  •  

Posted 13 November 2006 - 11:53 PM

If the fans aren't starting you may have a problem with the power supply or the motherboard, or possibly a loose connection somewhere in the case.