Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Free Hard Drive Space

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Bassy2

Bassy2

• Members
  • 38 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:29 PM

Posted 12 November 2006 - 05:43 PM

Hi Moderators,

I am relatively new to computers. I run Windows XP Professional SP2. My Maxtor Hard Drive total size is 19.0 GB.

I have recently noticed that despite the fact that I have tried to keep my free space at least at 11.0 the same has dropped to 6.23. I have backed up most of my files on c.d. and have deleted a great deal. However my free space reads only 8.23.

I make sure that I remove history, temporary internet files, cookies, and forms, almost every day. I also use Ccleaner. A look in add/remove programs revealed that since I started using my computer in 2004 May 24 I have received quite a lot of updates both for Xp and Office and I suspect that these may be the cause of the decrease in free space. Moreover sometime earlier this year I had to re-download SP2 in order that my web cam would work. I did not uninstall the former SP 2

I shall be grateful if you can advise me as to whether updates I had prior to re-downloading SP2 would have become obsolete and can be removed.

I have a lot of programs installed but they are all being used from time to time. I can uninstall a couple of them as I use them at intervals.