Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Compatible Cards With My Motherboard

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 ryleycampbell

ryleycampbell

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:27 AM

Posted 11 November 2006 - 03:19 PM

I'm a moderate newbie here who thinks i got the short end from the guy who built my new system. Long story short, i have a ASUS P5ND2 SLI Nforce 4 Intel Edition motherboard, but the system only came with an Nvidia GeForce 6600 installed. I want to upgrade the card, but not sure how high of a card it will take.

Does the Nforce 4 determine how high of a card i can put in it? I was looking at like a 7600GT or maybe a 7800. Will my board accept those cards? Yes, yes i know...wait till next year, Vista, DX10 all that stuff, but if i got a good performance, reasonably priced card now i can live with the fact that it wont be cutting edge, but as long as it will suffice for a while, its good enough for me.

I've been researching online before i decided to post, but cant find my answer...any help would be appreciated.

Specs:

Pentium D Dual Core 3.4GHZ

2GB DDR2 667MHZ RAM

160 GB Hard drive

256 MB GeForce 6600

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Sterling14

Sterling14

• Members
  • 1,842 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:27 PM

Posted 11 November 2006 - 04:35 PM