Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Change The Appearance Of Some Filenames In Windows Explorer

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 gin0565

gin0565

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:58 PM

Posted 05 November 2006 - 07:24 PM

I work in the academic department of a business college and I work with a number of excel spreadsheets that contain the marks for students at the college. As I complete the compilation of the marks each term, I want to be able to somehow mark the filenames of these spreadsheets to identify them as being complete without changing the filename. For example, changing the font colour or marking them somehow with a symbol. Is this possible?

Mod Edit: Closed open Font tag. ~tg

Edited by tg1911, 05 November 2006 - 07:43 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 tg1911

tg1911

Lord Spam Magnet

• Members
  • 19,274 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:58 AM

Posted 05 November 2006 - 07:39 PM

You could change the folder icon, or add a picture to the folder.

To add a picture, right click the file.
Select Properties.
Select the Customize tab.
Under Folder pictures, click the Choose Picture... button.
Navigate to an image you want to use, and select it.
This works if you're using Thumbnail view.

To change the icon, right click the file.
Select Properties.
Select the Customize tab.