Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Hard Drive Space Disappearing

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 brightmidnight

brightmidnight

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:46 AM

Posted 01 November 2006 - 03:44 PM

Hi everyone!

I'm fairly new to all this and may not have a real problem at all (might be in the wrong part of the forum too), but I'm trying to understand where all my hard drive space disappears to each day. Most of the time I just work on Word documents and browse the internet, and I clear temporary files and other junk regularly, if not every day (Ccleaner, Sweepi, Advanced WindowsCare). Restore points are only getting made every 4 or 5 days, so it's not that. Does anyone have any idea why I have 'lost' over 1gb since the start of the weekend, for example? I have a decent amount of space left, but it's disconcerting to see it relentlessly drain away.

Thanks for any help you can provide, and I'll be glad to give you any extra info you might need! Maybe, at the very least, there's some way to track it?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 ComputerWhizz7

ComputerWhizz7

• Members
  • 408 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:46 PM

Posted 01 November 2006 - 06:09 PM

When did this program start occuring? Did you install any programs that maybe have caused this?
I came, I saw, I conquered. - Julius Caeser

#3 brightmidnight